Planes NOT Automobiles

FullSizeRender

My husband faithfully watches the show “Top Gear”.. Besides the fact that he prefers BBC shows over American ones, he also (like most men), loves Cars…
To me, my car / automobile is how I get from point A to point B. I do have some preferences in regards to the model of car I prefer to drive (like an SUV over a sedan), but other than that, I have very little interest in Cars..
Now aircrafts on the other hand, I could read about and look at all day! I love everything about them, including the way they smell!
How did I come to love this mode of transport? First it was my love for travel, and then came my love and interest in the aviation industry. Because I was spending more time in planes than in cars or on the ground, I began to have a strong curiosity in all the different types of aircrafts that are out there, not to mention wondering how the heck they stayed in the air and battled mother nature everyday!

How they work
While I am not a licensed mechanic or pilot, I have taken the time to self educate myself on the mechanics of how and why planes fly! That research, coupled with the education I received working for a training center, has helped me become more knowledgeable and more comfortable spending so much time in the air and working in a plane for a living. I encourage everyone that steps foot on an aircraft to spend some time researching the mechanics of it all. It may even put your mind at ease if you have been a nervous flyer! The basics-In case you want to know: wings create lift, overpower weight/force of gravity. Engines create thrust/power,and compensate for drag(opposing direction of motion). They fly in a straight line and mostly at a constant speed. Now you are interested right?

My favorites
Since I have started working as a flight attendant, I have worked on 8 different types of aircrafts and within in those,-many different models. What are my favorites? Well, that has changed a bit over time. I use to LOVE Gulfstreams,.. Until, I worked on Falcons and Globals. I love the wider fuselage and don’t feel like I am walking a tight rope when I am trying to maneuver throughout the aircraft around obstacles such as feet, legs, and bags! I still have great respect for Gulfstreams and the company that manufactures them. I feel very safe in them and find most very “user friendly”. However, service is just easier in a wider aircraft!
While I am not a fan of commercial flying, and I do prefer corporate jets, I am even intrigued by the mechanics and technology of the “wide body” aircrafts such as Boeing 767s./ 757, etc. I have worked on many “reconfigured” wide-bodies and they honestly feel like being in a house in the sky! Equipped with master bedrooms, conference rooms, and even showers in the massive bathrooms (you cant even call these lavatories!).

“There there pretty plane..”

Each time I get on a new plane, I feel out its own “personality”. Similar to cars (and people), each aircraft has its own personal characteristics and “idiosyncrasies”. Although I cant (or wont) say I go around talking to aircrafts- I have this weird habit of seeing these inanimate objects as having human characteristics. So, the first thing I do when I get on-board an aircraft for the first time is walk around inside and “feel out” its personality. I also look for its “faults and scars”- things that don’t work or look right. Together, its personality and quirks become very important to me- I really feel that this silly practice of mine helps me to relate to the aircraft better and aids me in doing a better job.

I would love to hear from anyone that may also have a passion for aircrafts and see them the way I do!

With love and passion,
Cobblestones and Heels

About cobblestonesandheels1

Corporate flight attendant / travel coordinator Southern, CA. Originally from NY. but since home is where the heart is, mine is truly in the whole world. My favorite song and one i would dedicate to all my readers is: "My Wish" by Rascal Flatts"

Posted on March 11, 2015, in Corporate flight attendant. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

