Hotel room blues

7694cd4035b5b99841c421726e03d200There are times when we find ourselves on trips that end up in a place where we DON’T want to go outside and gallivant.. It may be “unsafe,” or just crappy weather.. So, we are now bound to our hotels for days on end! What do we do to entertain ourselves? How do we avoid cabin fever? -(Which can eventually turn into loneness and homesickness). Here are some things I do to avoid the “hotel room blues”..

PLAN AHEAD
First, I plan ahead. If I know I will be in that desolate place where I will be in my hotel / hotel room much more than I will be outside- I pack accordingly. I may bring my yoga mat, exercise videos, a good book, and my laptop. I happen to LOVE spas so I will research the hotel( and surrounding area) In which I will be staying, and see if there is a quality spa located there.

BE PRODUCTIVE
I also try to be productive and use this time to pay online bills, catch up on emails or phone calls, do my expense reports , plan catering for the next leg, and of course write blogs ☺
There is only so much TV watching I can do!

SPEND TIME WITH YOUR CREW
Its always an added bonus if you enjoy the company of your crew and can plan inside activities together.
Once I was flying with a pilot friend of mine and we were stuck in a very cold and rainy city. We decided to have a scrabble tournament in the lounge at our hotel and had the best day ever! We ordered tons of comfort food,( had a couple cocktails), and played scrabble for hours!
Another time I was completely alone ( in the middle of a crew change) and stuck in a hotel in the middle of nowhere.. It was a small town in Slovenia that happened to be known for one of the best spas! Jackpot!! After a few days of pampering myself I felt so relaxed and happy .. and grateful for the experience!

USE YOUR TALENTS
It is a necessity for corporate flight attendants to be resourceful and independent while on the job… why not put these characteristics to use for your own entertainment and find the silver lining to cabin fever situations! If you cant get OUT and see things, stay in and enjoy yourself!

I would love to hear YOUR favorite hotel room past times so please comment!

With Love,
Cobblestones and Heels

About cobblestonesandheels1

Corporate flight attendant / travel coordinator Southern, CA. Originally from NY. but since home is where the heart is, mine is truly in the whole world. My favorite song and one i would dedicate to all my readers is: "My Wish" by Rascal Flatts"

Posted on March 8, 2015, in Corporate flight attendant. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I suffer from chronic fatigue but I love travelling so I probably spend more time indoors than out while I am away. Like you I plan for it. A book, a ukulele, tools for the latest craft craze and of course the laptop 🙂 I have only been a blogger for a few days so am still on training wheels but I can see that blogging is a good way of being alone and connected with others at the same time. Thank you.

  2. Hello, I Prioritize in this order, sightsee! ( you only live once ) catch up with emails/chores. FaceTime with my family. Swim to stretch my muscles..I luxuriate in my room with leaving conditioner in my colored hair and revel with a good read! which I don’t have much time for at home. It’s funny even though I get very busy on the road, the down time in hotels can be more useful. I have also learnt to say No to crew for dinner and not feel anti social when I explain I’m having dinner with my family via FaceTime! 😉

Leave a Reply

