“Its in your blood”

At the end of my email signature, I have always included a quote-
“when once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return” by Leonardo De Vinci”. I read it once a long time ago and just really liked it. Recently, I was having a conversation with a co- worker (pilot instructor), who was telling me that he stopped flying to be at home with his little kids.. which is a very noble and respectful thing to do.. But as he was saying it, I saw in his eyes, the same look I see in every crew member I know who has ever gotten the career truly ” in their blood” Myself included! Sure, I can find happiness in other aspects of the aviation industry in terms of a job, but nothing.. and I mean NOTHING- can ever replace that love for being in the skies.. The extensive travel, the uncertainty/excitement of what the day will bring, the view at 45,000 ft above the rest of the crazy world, and the gift of experiencing temporarily living a million different places in one life time. I swear I could write pages and pages of my own reasons!
When new or aspiring flight attendants contact me asking me tons of questions about my job and “how one gets started”, I am just as excited as they are because I can relate to how they are feeling, and so happy for them to have found this career. Right now, I am living vicariously through them as they write me on their trips and tell me the tales of their new experiences. I want them to succeed as if they were my own family, because in a way they are..
In my opinion, Flight Crew are like “blood sisters and brothers” because that is where the passion for flight travels through them and only those who have it flowing through their veins- know what its truly like.

I would love any flight crew to send me your comments and thoughts on this.. Share your passion for flight with all of us!! Give me your favorite reason why you love your job!!
602266_10151123223160784_1801940255_n

With Love,
Cobblestones and Heels

About cobblestonesandheels1

Corporate flight attendant / travel coordinator Southern, CA. Originally from NY. but since home is where the heart is, mine is truly in the whole world. My favorite song and one i would dedicate to all my readers is: "My Wish" by Rascal Flatts"

Posted on November 23, 2013, in Corporate flight attendant. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Amazing! You hit the nail on the head. I have tried for so long to explain it and you really found the right words. Amazing article that I am going to share with my friends and colleagues.

  2. I am a flight Attendant for the Air force. Your articles have made me wonder if doing what i do no on the outside would be much more rewarding. The only issue is I have no idea how to get into what you do. please if you could give me some guidance or help i would be VERY grateful

    • Hi there! Thank you for reading! My advice is to read over some of my earlier blogs, the ones specifically about the first steps of figuring out if the job is right for you and how to go forward from there…
      Then, feel free to email me directly with specific questions and I can get you going on the right path πŸ™‚
      Cobbleestones and heels

  3. I now know that I am ready to transition from commercial to private! Thanks for the wonderful blog.

  4. Kimberly Jenkins

    I am thinking of going into this field, I would appreciate your thoughts and input. I live in Chicago. I have several questions, regarding schools that I have come across for corporate flight attendants, employment in Chicago. I enjoy reading your blog as well. I don’t want to return to cubical country

    • Hi Kimberly! Thank you so much for being a fan πŸ™‚
      as far as “schools” go, there are only two safety training schools that are recognized by 99.9% of employers out there: FACTS and Flight Safety International. You need this training initially (and recurrently) to work. In addition, culinary and service training are highly suggested. Iam not sure what your back round is as far as work experience, but you can always email me directly and i will be happy to help in any way i can πŸ™‚

  5. Thank you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

