Wings come in many forms..

Eight years ago this month, I made the switch from a commercial flight attendant to a corporate one. It was a huge transition in many ways, including in my personal life. I was not only starting a new job, I was embarking on a whole new life path. In addition to work, I was ending a relationship and moving across the country. I was scary and risky but I felt in my heart it was the right thing to do.
A few days before I was leaving, my mom gave me a small angel pendant that she kept for years. She told me to keep it on me for good travel luck and safe flying. And I did. For the last 8 years, this angel followed me around the world. Anytime I changed luggage pieces, I would make sure to transfer the angel so I would never fly a trip without it. The angel represented many things to me including faith and a connection to my family. For those of you that follow my Facebook page, you would have seen that I recently have accepted a position on the ground as a corporate flight attendant instructor- Another big change but one that again, I feel is the right move. Last night, I was going through my luggage and dug out my little angel pendant. I do believe this angel has kept me safe in the skies for all of these years.. And now she will have a new home in a special box on my dresser.. Maybe someday I will pass it on to someone close to me that may need it.
I was wondering, who else out there carries with them something like this? For flying, traveling, or just sentimental value?
I would love to hear your story..

PS,In reference to my new position, don’t worry, I wont stop blogging and will have many more stories to tell and advice to give 🙂

With Love,
Cobblestones and Heels
20130827_090146

About cobblestonesandheels1

Corporate flight attendant / travel coordinator Southern, CA. Originally from NY. but since home is where the heart is, mine is truly in the whole world. My favorite song and one i would dedicate to all my readers is: "My Wish" by Rascal Flatts"

Posted on August 27, 2013, in Corporate flight attendant. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. The story of your angel pin really touched me. 8 years ago, May 23rd, to be exact, my dad past away. While going through his things, I came across a pin that appeared to be an eagle with spread wings. It was a pin that was awarded to him for honorable discharge from WWII. I later found out that the pin is called the lame duck. I wear this pin on my uniform suit every time I fly. My dad was a pilot as well and I practically grew up at the airport. I have so many wonderful memories of the time he and I spent together and I miss him and think of him everyday. When I was a little girl growing up, I always felt that when he was with me, nothing bad would happen. I felt safe. I wear his pin when I fly and know that he is watching out for me still.

    • Well Tina, your story touched me too..brought tears reading it..thank you so much for sharing that with me and other readers… we all have our guardian angels don’t we 🙂
      Keep in touch..
      With Love
      Cobblestones and Heels

  2. Kathleen Sifford

    I am doing essentially the same thing you have done. I have been a commercial flight attendant for 9 1/2 years, in the industry for almost 14 and now, I have moved across the country to attend training for my corporate flight certificate. I don’t even have a position yet, as I am going to get contract work. My daughter was a commercial flight attendant as well for a year and a half and now is working as a flight attendant on the corporate side. I really enjoy your blog and it has been very helpful!

  3. I’ve been researching becoming a corporate flight attendant. There are so options when when it comes to training programs. Are there any that you recommend or don’t recommend? Love your blog!

    • Hi Amber!! thank you so much for reading!!
      Yes, there are training programs you should definitely stay away from. the only acceptable ones that you should consider for safety truing are Flight Safety International ( whom i instruct for), and FACTS. There are also a couple of culinary or business trainings that are helpful but as far as being able to work and having universal acceptance, those are the only two..
      Feel free to email me anytime with extra questions 🙂 Good luck ! its a wonderful career!!
      love,
      cobblestones and heels

Leave a Reply

