Asked out by client’s assistant!

I received this email today from a flight attendant currently on a trip..

Sandy:
Kathryn,
I am currently on a trip in Europe. I need your advice!
This is the situation: I am flying a client that I have flown a few times over the last year. He is a CEO of a major banking company. His assistant, who often fly’s with him often, is about my age. Upon landing today, he gave me his card and asked me to dinner! I didn’t know what to say, I just took the card! What should I do???”

Me:
Hi Sandy,
I just saw your email and sensed your urgency so I wanted to get back to you ASAP
First, take a deep breath and don’t get too worked up., this does happen.. Kind of often! I get a feeling that under other circumstance you would probably go out with this guy? The thing is, if you do, it can have bad repercussions on your career. First, the lead pax ( the CEO), will obviously know. He may look at you as less professional and maybe even a liability so to speak. Or, he could take it as an invitation to do the same some time.. Either way is not good. Second, the pilots will find out and they will most likely throw you under the bus, or at the very least give you a “good talking to” because company policy most likely states you are not allowed to socialize with the passengers. Third, it will damage your reputation with other operators. This is a small community and word travels fast..
My advice to you is this: politely turn down the invitation. Don’t call or write him, just let him know on the next flight that it’s against policy. And to cover yourself in case he is upset about it, let the captain know that he asked you out and you declined. The bottom line is : on this job, you could meet a lot of wonderful people, unfortunately, you just can’t date them.
Now ,if you are a contract flight attendant and not employed by the CEO…And if you happen to run into this guy on the street somewhere, outside of this trip ( back in the states), than maybe its meant to be. ☺ .

I hope that helped. Feel free to contact me anytime ☺ “

I wanted to share this situation with you all because it will come up from time to time. Maybe there are crews out there that may handle this differently and if you have additional advice for Sandy, feel free to send it to me and I will pass it on!

With love,
Cobblestones and Heels

About cobblestonesandheels1

Corporate flight attendant / travel coordinator Southern, CA. Originally from NY. but since home is where the heart is, mine is truly in the whole world. My favorite song and one i would dedicate to all my readers is: "My Wish" by Rascal Flatts"

Posted on July 11, 2013, in Corporate flight attendant. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good guidance Kathryn. It could only be awkward to mix this up.

Leave a Reply

