First flight!



I still remember how nerve racking my first private jet charter flight was! I was worried about EVERYTHING and didn’t sleep the night before!
Its also exciting and exhilarating to get to that point, and start the adventure of being a corporate flight Attendant.
I love receiving emails from new FAs heading out on their first trips! And I love giving them advice to assist them in having the best first trip possible and help minimize their worry!!
I wanted to share one of these emails, and the advice I gave!

Jeannie writes:

Dear Kathryn,
Today I was called for my first trip.. I don’t have all the details yet however I do know departure is at 10am with four pax to LAS and the company is taking care of the catering order …. whew 😉 Are there any tips you may have, as this is my first flight flying privately?

Thank you so much for all the help you’ve given me over the last few months. It is finally coming to fruition! “


Me:

Hi Jeannie!!
I am home right now, and wanted to get back to you ASAP because I am so excited for u!!
First, be yourself! Be friendly, professional, and as perceptive as possible.. Give them their space but keep an eye on them from afar (when U aren’t serving) to make sure glasses aren’t empty etc. .. Check in, but not too much.
Speak to them when they speak to you only.. Unless its to ask if everything is “ok “ or see if they need anything. – You never want to be one of those servers that is always hounding people … These clients like friendly but NOT “chatty Cathy’s ” Remember: One of the reasons they fly private is for privacy and space!
When u get in the air, check in with them as soon as you are at walking altitude to inquire when they may want to eat so u can plan that out accordingly.
Serve the lead passenger (s) first.. If there are couples on board, my advice is to give the women more attention than the men. Of course- the principle passenger, man or woman, should receive a bit more attention, but generally speaking, this will make the women on board more comfortable with you.
Also, treat the pilots well! Make sure they always have what they need, I always make sure my pilots are ” fed and watered” lol..
Have a boarding snack, and if its a pleasure trip not business (to LAS), than have a cocktail for them or offer them one pre- board ! ( as long as its allowed by the pilots ).
If you are departing at 10 am, you may want to call the FBO tonight to reserve your newspapers because chances are that they can all be gone to earlier flights!

Here is an idea, instead of laying the newspapers / periodicals out flat, roll them up and tie with some nice ribbon! Any special touches are appreciated.

I hope that helps! Contact me with any further questions you have!”

Best wishes for everyone’s first flight! And feel free to write to me with any questions that may come up for you all!

Fly safe,
Love,
Cobblestones and Heels

DSC_2498 - Version 2 copy

About cobblestonesandheels1

Corporate flight attendant / travel coordinator Southern, CA. Originally from NY. but since home is where the heart is, mine is truly in the whole world. My favorite song and one i would dedicate to all my readers is: "My Wish" by Rascal Flatts"

Posted on June 28, 2013, in Corporate flight attendant. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

