questions answered!

I truly love receiving emails from all the wonderful people that read my blog. Recently, on my Cobblestones and Heels facebook page, I have started sharing the questions and answers because i think it would benefit everyone! Here is a recent email and a great example of this..

Dear cobblestones!
I am a brand new VIP flight attendant fresh out of training! I love reading your blogs! They have been an inspiration to me as well as a great learning tool!
I have a question for you( I don’t believe you have blogged about this yet?!).
As I am looking for jobs, I see the term part 91 or Part 135. I don’t have any idea what this means! I asked another classmate of mine at FACTS training but she had no idea either and I think we were both embarrassed to ask. feeling like we should just know this! Could you help explain??
thank you!
hugs..
Misty”

My reply:
Dear Misty,
Thank you so much for the compliment about my blogs and for reading them and writing to me! I AM ALWAYS HAPPY TO HELP!
First, you need to know that most new flight attendants do not know this either! I didn’t when I started and remember asking a pilot to explain it all to me. I know they mention it in training but do not really fully explain. So, here it is:
The Federal Air Regulations in the United States regulates operating conditions differently depending on the the type of aircraft operators. “part” is just short for part of the FAA regulations for each type. Part 135 contains the regulations that apply to aircraft operators and pilots for chartered planes (for hire with no defining schedule). If you work for a jet company that houses or owns jets for charter , you will be working part 135 trips ( this will be the majority of your work).
Part 91 contains regulations apply to all aircraft operators and pilots for private individuals flying around in their own plane.. IE. If you were to work a trip for the owner on his own jet- you would be flying a “part 91 trip”
Part 121 regulates the major airlines, like Delta, US air, etc. you should know this but it most likely will NOT apply to any of your trips. ( unless you decide to be a commercial flight attendant).
I hope that helps!!
love,
cobblestones and Heels”

I love the letters so keep them coming everyone!!

th

About cobblestonesandheels1

Corporate flight attendant / travel coordinator Southern, CA. Originally from NY. but since home is where the heart is, mine is truly in the whole world. My favorite song and one i would dedicate to all my readers is: "My Wish" by Rascal Flatts"

Posted on February 26, 2013, in Corporate flight attendant. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Anonymous for now

    Hi there,
    I just discovered your blog and was so eager to read it, that I read every entry today!
    I am about to embark on the corporate flight attendant career: a totally new career for me, I might add, as I am currently an executive assistant at a film studio. I am scheduled to take my cabin attendant training in just a couple of weeks and would love your input as to go about getting those first resume building jobs (even if it is little trips like LA to San Diego; LA to Vegas, etc.) I don’t intend to quit my job just yet, but would love your input. Thanks!

    • Hi Donna! thank you!! And I am excited for you! I will email you privately with some advice 🙂 i will say that your current experience will be helpful in this career because you now know how to deal with high end/ high profile clientele! I can take a look at the rest of your resume too!
      emailing you soon!
      love,
      Cobblestones and Heels

  2. Dear Cobblestones,

    I would really appreciate your input. I have been researching a corporate flight attendant career for some time now and I am confident it is a job in which I could truly flourish. I am completely flexible, can work day or night, weekdays, weekends, and holidays. I am currently working as a Registered Nurse but I have also 13.5 years experience as a flight attendant for a major commercial carrier. The training cost is sizable. I know the field is difficult to break into but I would certainly hope the investment would pay off. What is the current job market like? I live in the Greater Boston area. Are you familiar with the opportunities in this area? Is it possible to commute to a job? Thank you for your assistance.

    • HI Lisa!! Thanks for stopping by!!
      First, anything is possible in this industry as far as work schedules, commuting, etc. Especially if you and your life is flexable!
      Second, the east coast is very busy so you are in a good place! The job market has slowly made a come back thank God!
      I will say that as far as breaking into the business goes- it isn’t easy but its doable like anything else if you want to wotk hard at it and network a lot!
      Initial training is around $3-4, 000. And its encouraged you invest in culinary and ettiquette training specific to corporate cabin service- it is a competitive market!
      My blogs should give you some good advice and additionally, you can always email me along the way of your journey for specific advice and guidence!
      I hope I helped a bit with your initial questions!!
      With love
      Cobblestones and heels

Leave a Reply

