It makes “plane” sense.. do not date where you work!

Since the first day I became a flight attendant (dating back 13 years to my commercial flying days), my family and friends would say to me, : “ maybe you will meet a pilot!”, or “ How exciting, you will probably meet a handsome stranger on your travels!”
I was 22 at the time and was not looking to settle down with anyone, let alone meet some “stranger” that would live hundreds of miles from me,. The pilot thing, well , I had not discounted the idea, but initially I was so consumed with this new lifestyle and the excitement of travel, that a relationship was the last thing on my mind. It was not til years into the profession that I decided It was a very bad idea to date where I worked…

Dating scenarios in the Air


1. The commercial flight attendant & The passenger. AKA “ handsome stranger”

Flight attendants flying routes can vary from domestic to international. The trips can be 1 day to 7 days long. Yes, it is true that you will come in contact with thousands of people, and yes a few of them will be handsome men.. However, these people most likely live very far from you. And lets face it, everyone knows that long distance relationships do not have good odds of working out.
Not only that, but there is this big urban legend out there that flight attendants are easy and will ask you to join the “mile high club”.. What ever that is… The Truth is: I still have not met one FA that has had sex with a passenger in an airplane bathroom.. (Sorry guys). So, do you really want to start something with a guy that is looking at you like a feat he just conquered and can tell his friends he is dating or slept with a “stewardess” ?

2. The commercial flight Attendant and their co-worker ( pilot or flight attendant)

Now when you are flying for hours and days on end in a metal tube at 35,000 feet above ground, and socializing at the hotels during overnights, its logical that you may become close with your co-workers. (I have made some good life time friends from that job). Crew members also find themselves attempting to date each other as well. ..BAD IDEA.
In a perfect world you will get along great and bid for the same trips together and everyone is in bliss. But the reality of all relationships is that you can have very bad days together and breakup. Does it sound like fun to be working in close quarters with the person you just broke up with or is in a domestic dispute with? Not to mention that for safety’s sake in a plane, team work and synergy are very important ..and who has synergy with their mate while in dispute??

3. The corporate flight attendant and the VIP passenger
Going back 7 years ago, when I made the transition to corporate flying, my family and friends now said to me , “ isn’t it exciting, you could end up dating a celebrity!!” Two things here are obvious. One, the people close to me REALLY wanted me to settle down, and two, they had no idea about working in my industry…
One of the biggest cardinal rules in private aviation for flight attendant is : DO NOT DATE THE CLIENTS”.
During my first interview with a corporate jet company, my boss included that in his speech. He also took it a step further and said, “if you do end up dating a client, you better hope you will marry them otherwise you will never work in this industry again!’… Enough said.
Have I been hit on or flirted with on the job? Absolutely..
Have I reciprocated this flirting? Or accepted dinner date offers? Absolutely NOT. As tempting as it can be…
I will say, that what my boss said to me was true. I have known flight attendants that have broken the “rule”. Where are they now? I have no idea. They are no longer working in my industry….
And very recently, I witnessed a couple of flight attendants getting phone numbers from passengers… now I am no tattletale.. so I will just wait to see what happens with that one…

4. The corporate flight attendant and the pilot

For many corporate Flight attendants, the main goal is to work for an aircraft owner. Only work on his/her plane, and only fly when he/ she flies. In this case scenario, again, it s a bad idea to form a relationship with the pilot assigned to the same aircraft. As I stated above, relationships go a-rye . So Now a fighting or newly broken up couple, have to work together, spending days and sometimes weeks on end with the other person.
And worst of all, The owner of the aircraft,( unless he is completely oblivious of human behavior), will pick up on this…and the outcome will not be good..

When could it work?
If your significant other is in your industry and flies for a different company or owner… by all means give it a shot…
although, you may never see each other…

So folks, sorry to disappoint you all with no “dating a passenger story”…
But I really do love my job too much to risk loosing it!!

With love,
Cobblestones and Heels..

About cobblestonesandheels1

Corporate flight attendant / travel coordinator Southern, CA. Originally from NY. but since home is where the heart is, mine is truly in the whole world. My favorite song and one i would dedicate to all my readers is: "My Wish" by Rascal Flatts"

Posted on September 26, 2012, in Corporate flight attendant. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

