Travel… on the ground.


While I have temporarily “grounded” myself, I have been working more publically planning VIP travel and film production travel. What does that mean exactly? It means I have imprisoned myself in a stuffy office environment. Just kidding… Sort of.
Although it can be stressful at times and a lot of pressure, It is actually a lot of fun, and personally satisfying helping people plan their dream vacations, or assisting feature film production with all the travel prep they need to shoot all over the world.

In regards to personal travel, I believe the best travel agents/ coordinators, are the ones that have traveled a great deal themselves. The ones that can speak from personal experience when recommending a hotel in in a remote place like Thailand, or a safari trip to Africa. They can give the best advice on which airlines to choose for specific routes, service, and accommodations on board.
When my clients contact me and ask me things like: “I am looking for a luxurious romantic getaway, can you give me suggestions?” I LOVE it. It gives me a chance to mentally re-live some of the wonderful places I have been, and help someone acquire that same experience. I can make it as easy and stress-free as possible for them ( in this crazy post 911 world of travel).
So what exactly do I do for them? Pretty much everything. I give destination ideas and suggestions. I search the best airline rates or find the perfect private jet. Locate the hotel / villa/ bungalow, etc.- that will best fit their travel needs. Book car services and car rentals. Even catering, restaurant reservations, and arrange entertainment all over the world.

Film production travel is a little different and a little more stressful- there are budgets, deadlines, and constant changes to deal with. However, the really cool part is that after a feature is wrapped, I know that I was partly responsible for its filming success and the transportation of major cast and crew- sometimes 500 people at a time!

After flying for 13+ years I was not sure if I would be able to make the transition to a day job, but as long as travel is still involved, iam happy. My wings have not been permanently clipped, I WILL be flying again- while in cooperating all my new found knowledge !
Changes and growth mold us as human beings. I believe that if you don’t take risks and try new things, you may be missing out on opportunities that can” take you” to new places ( even if you never leave the ground)…

Love,
Cobblestones and Heels

About cobblestonesandheels1

Corporate flight attendant / travel coordinator Southern, CA. Originally from NY. but since home is where the heart is, mine is truly in the whole world. My favorite song and one i would dedicate to all my readers is: "My Wish" by Rascal Flatts"

Posted on July 12, 2012, in Corporate flight attendant. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

