The job….

For all the wonderful experiences travel has brought me, iam eternally grateful..but what I value the most from all my years on the road, is the insight, change and growth I have gained as an individual .
I began working as a flight attendant when I was 23. At this age, I was immature, naive, and lacked self confidence. After college, I was Not sure what I wanted to spend my life doing.. I had a psychology degree but no real passion or drive to pursue a job in my field of study. After some encouragement and persuasion from a friend, I accepted a job as a commercial flight attendant. I knew i loved to travel, enjoyed working with and socializing with the general public, so I figured, “what the hell”.. Not to mention being a free spirit by nature…I looked forward to the idea of gaining some real independence . So, I happily embarked on the lifestyle and career of being a flight attendant. In the beginning, It was a a drastic life change, and a little scary at times. I often felt alone and homesick “on the road”..
At one point, about 5 years into it, I quit. I have fallen in love and wanted to be home every night. I wanted to try out having a “normal” life.. However, After about a year of being on the ground.. I became Antsy.. I had dreams about flying and longed to pack a suitcase , board a plane, and discover a city or place I have never been. So, after long debate with myself, I once again returned to the friendly skies. I left the boyfriend ( whom I dearly loved) and moved across the country to Los Angeles, CA to became a corporate flight attendant. I began working on private jets with High profile clients and serving meals on fine china.. My trips where now mostly international.. Places like paris, brazil, Spain, china, and even an island in the middle of the philiipene sea.. My trips are adventurous, and challenging and educational.. To say the least. But as I mentioned above, they also have become life altering.. I have changed a person in ways that I don’t think I would have if I had stayed on the ground.. Living in the same town, and seeing the same people. Now there are many days that I wonder what it would be like to come home to a family every night and only travel on an annual vacation. But I am a big believer in the theory that everything happens for a reason. And everyone has a path of life that has been carved out for them. Not saying you can’t alter the road or take detours.. But life is a journey and everyone has a different one for a reason. i once heard the lyrics in a Lifehouse song that said-“Everyday is a gift and not a given right”..I agree and try to live my life with those words in mind. Every trip I take, every new city I explore or new person I meet.. Is a learning experience. I gain new insight and become open to new ideas, and possibilities. I have found that I never say never about anything or anyone.. But I also make changes within myself based on these experiences. I don’t wait for the world around me or people in my life to change to fit me.. I change and adapt to fit my surroundings and my community. I don’t believe that I would have become the same person if it wasn’t for the experience of travel. The education of different cultures, the thought provoking things I see and people I watch.
This year alone I have spent months in Asia, experienced Chinese year first hand, attended the Superbowl, met and flew many current political leaders, and attended celebrity events… A year that only people dream of having .. And I have had 7 of them as a corporate flight attendant..
So what is the negative ? Here it goes 😦
I wonder how many years left I have in a profession of youth. Although the east coast is a bit different, the west coast ( where iam based), is highly influenced by Hollywood and superficial attributes…
Traveling also brings physical demands on your body. There are days that iam just exhausted. I have also been told recently by a doctor that my job influences brain function – memory, hormone levels, circulation, just to name a few.
I also know I Savatage personal relationships..and upset my dog( that is not a joke). I see my family less, my friends can’t make real plans with me, and well, I have already written about my career’s impact on my romantic relationships.
And finally, I pay rent for an apartment iam not home to enjoy and pay for a car I don’t drive…
Why am I am openly describing the good and the bad of my career? because it should be public knowledge. Maybe there is someone out there weighing the pros and cons of becoming a corporate flight attedant. maybe people that know me don’t quite understand what my job really entails. Or maybe, I just need to write it down . This is a personal blog after all.
Where am I writing this ? On a plane of course.
See you soon

20120207-033427.jpg

About cobblestonesandheels1

Corporate flight attendant / travel coordinator Southern, CA. Originally from NY. but since home is where the heart is, mine is truly in the whole world. My favorite song and one i would dedicate to all my readers is: "My Wish" by Rascal Flatts"

Posted on February 7, 2012, in Corporate flight attendant. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi,
    Thank you so much for your informative blog. If its not too much trouble, I was wondering if I could ask you some more detailed questions about becoming a corporate flight attendant? I am seriously considering this career and wanted to find out more about the pro’s vs. cons, expected salary, experience/training needed, etc.
    Thank you!

  2. thanks Brittany,
    we will chat via email and phone and i will give you all the help and guidance you need 🙂 its an amazing career and will change your life in wonderful ways! but it is hard work too.. and you must love people! lol
    talk soon..
    cobblestones and heels xo

Leave a Reply

