My life vs. My job

Sorry There has been in lapse in my blogging lately. It’s not due to lack of material, but just the opposite. I have had two days at home the last month.. One week spent on a campaign trail, one week spent in China, etc.etc.. Which brings me exactly to my topic of discussion…
My personal life vs my job… I need to start by saying I LOVE MY JOB. There is nothing better in the world to me than packing my suitcase knowing iam off for another adventure… Both on and off the plane… Knowing I will be somewhere in the world that maybe I have not yet been and will have the great fortune of experiencing different culture, food, people. Plus being paid for it.. 12 years now this has been my life And there is not one day that I contemplate giving it up.
Then, there is my life at home. A sweet , loving dog, great friends and family, and now a new boyfriend whom I adore..and love spending my free time with. People always ask me if I get home sick or lonely on the road. The answer is yes .. And I do miss my pup and my boyfriend very much, but since we spend the majority of our lives working, I feel blessed that I can have a career that I love so much, even If it means leaving loved ones at home for extended periods of time.
Recently, the topic of ” the future” came up in conversation between my boyfriend and I. It was not an easy topic for either of us to discuss.. But it was an important one. We talked about the idea of marriage, kids, and my job..
Being the blunt honest person iam, I did pronounce my reluctant attitude concerning children. I explained my position in my career, including the fact that you rarely see VIP flight attendants running around pregnant. ” I do not fly for delta” I told him.. Meaning, no one really wants to see a pregnant flight attendant on a private jet. I can’t even think of a comparison to that but iam sure I don’t need to.. It’s pretty self explanatory. I also don’t want to take a year off from my job or even be a mom that takes off across the world for weeks on end, leaving her child at home with a nanny…
I do feel like that is the position I am in.. Making a choice between my life now ( which I love) or a life without travel/ my career…
I don’t know if there are other corporate VIP flight attendants that feel this way, but I do know my job has been known to cause divorce.. The thing is, I have never really wanted children. I have wanted adventure. I have wanted to see the world and experience all the wonderful things that travel brings.
My boyfriend on the other hand wants other things. He wants a family to come home to at the end of his day. He wants a child to pass on his genes and name. And I get that.
So here we are…though I have made my decision concerning my life and my future.. I made it the first time I packed a suitcase and boarded a plane.. The first time I smelled jet fuel and took off into the sunset and above the clouds..
Yea, I love my man, my dog, my family and Friends. But my future, as long as I have one, has to include an airplane..

20111013-031718.jpg

About cobblestonesandheels1

Corporate flight attendant / travel coordinator Southern, CA. Originally from NY. but since home is where the heart is, mine is truly in the whole world. My favorite song and one i would dedicate to all my readers is: "My Wish" by Rascal Flatts"

Posted on October 13, 2011, in Corporate flight attendant, Private aviation, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks so much for speaking on this topic and having it available in archive! I’m researching what it takes to become a CFA to decide if this will be part of my road map of life. This was exactly what I was looking for, honesty!

  2. thank you for your comment Leah, and reading my blogs! sorry it took me a bit of time to respond..i was traveling .. yea i believe in telling the real tale.. in case people are looking into this career.. they should know EXACTLY what is like from the inside…always feel free to ask questions too! you can count on my honesty..
    love, cobblestones and heels

Leave a Reply

