Sick on the road…

So your average person who has the average 9 to 5 , Monday thru Friday, holidays off, work schedule… Also probably has “sick days”.. You know, the days you can actually stay home, rest, and recover from what ever ailment or virus has come your way… well, in my industry/ career, these days do not really exist. yes, we get sick Like everyone else, but the majority of us go to work anyway..because chances are, we are not getting paid if we stay home. we try to ” recover” on the road in our hotel room somewhere in the world. We load up on ” emergen-c” packets, zinc, and other various immune friendly supplements. Personally, I do this everyday as a preventative measure along with my gallons of green tea..so, let this be e introduction to the story of my last trip..
since I work contract, I rarely turn down a trip, sick, hurt, etc I go to work. A couple of weeks ago, I found myself laying in bed and praying for two things.. One, that what ever was making me feel like death, would soon pass. And two, I didn’t get a call for a trip until this “sickness” passed…
however, as luck would have it, my phone rang.. As i heard the familiar ringtone I assigned to work calls play on my iPhone. I took a long sigh and answered… Crew scheduler: ” Hello, Kathryn? We have a trip tomorrow for you. It’s a 3 day trip to Dallas, TX with client X. “. Me: ” ok”…that is about all I could say… The words ” no, I don’t feel well”, would never have entered my mind or left my mouth. I hung up the phone and sighed once more.. Than began the mental planning for my trip.
The next day, I was still not feeling well.. it was almost worse. A good pilot friend of mine ( lets call him bill), who luckily I was also assigned to this trip with, calls and offers to pick me up and drive me into work.. I happily accepted The offer.. I was sooo tired, and probably looked as bad as I felt so when he picked me up, he took one look at me and said, ” you sure you can do the trip?”. I replied ” no, but iam”… and he understood…
My saving grace was two things. one, it was a easy going client I have flown many times, and two, it was only a 2.5 hour flight. So, I put on my professional face, gathered all the energy I could, and did my job. Then old saying ” act as if..” definitely applied here.
Once I reached my hotel room that first night, I peeled off my work clothes, downed more vitamins, and jumped in bed. I layed there wondering what the hell was making me feel so horrible, and when the hell was it going away? By the next morning, I could barely get out of bed.. Even to eat- which for me is major.. I called Bill and told him I thought i really needed to go to the hospital. I asked the front desk to help me locate one, and give me directions. Of course being in a city you don’t know, adds challenges. Not knowing your so Surroundings or where you can find medical help, makes things interesting to say the least..
Bill, the great guy and friend he is, offered to take me to the hospital, and wait there with me! when I arrived at the emergency room, I took one look around the crowded waiting room and knew it was going to be a long day. :(. i impatiently dealt with the initial intake by the nurse, and random questions about why I was there, by 4 different people. I was asked the infamous question ” do you think you could be pregnant?” .. And I jokingly responded: ” how could that happen. don’t you have to have sex to get pregnant? Iam not married!” The blank stare by the nurse told me she was not amused. Lol. So, I was then brought into room two, asked more questions, and then on to room three- where I would spend the next 5 hours! while in this room, I was poked and prodded with needles, passed out once from all the blood drawing, and began to get increasingly more impatient with the long lapse of time alone and the lack of food. Bill finally came in to keep me company.. Or fear of me killing someone out of frustration, not sure which..
Finally, after many hours, I became very anxious. Where is the dr? Where are my test results?, when can I leave? When can I eat! I even told a nurse I was going to take out my own IV and just leave..the nurse scurried away, telling everyone in her path that i was carrying on.. Great, now iam sure everyone in hospital thinks iam nuts.. Finally, the Dr. Came in to give me my diagnosis.
“your Tyroid hormone levels are low..and we are prescribing you a synthetic hormone medication. Follow up with your Dr. At home”. These where his words..and my reaction: What the hell? Don’t old women get that ?!…great….well that explains my symptoms.. And is proof iam getting old. well, Now I can leave this prison emergency room and process this info over a large amount of food…
The following day, still not feeling well, and nervous about taking my new thyroid medication, I worked my trip home…
And so begins a new chapter of my life.. Now a flight attendant dealing with hypothyroidism..

20110902-031114.jpg

About cobblestonesandheels1

Corporate flight attendant / travel coordinator Southern, CA. Originally from NY. but since home is where the heart is, mine is truly in the whole world. My favorite song and one i would dedicate to all my readers is: "My Wish" by Rascal Flatts"

Posted on September 2, 2011, in Corporate flight attendant. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

