My opinion on the southwest pilot and his ranting about ” gays, grannies, and grandes”

After hearing about this situation with the Southwest airlines pilot and his rantings, I did laugh a little. First, I did think it was unprofessional of him to speak that way at work about his co-workers. There is spoken and unspoken rules about that kind of behavior at the work place.
However, as you can see form my recent blog concerning pilots, we all have opinions about eachother and our expectations of our crew members. while I do not condone his behavior, I don’t completely disagree with his opinions. I know that there should be equal opportunity companies and jobs but there is also a profile of the individuals in those professions. That is just a fact. And iam ok with that. Iam not saying I agree with discrimination of any kind..but iam ok with profiling. I know that in private aviation, if I looked elderly, or over weight or unkept, I would probably not have a job. First, its a safety factor when an individual is over weight on this job because there is small spaces such as emergency exits that may have to be used in order to save someones life in the event of a emergency landing or fire. On commercial planes as well, this is the case. Second, the customers are paying for specific product when they charter a private plane, which does include a well kept, younger flight attendant. They should get what they ask for and pay for. Commercially speaking, the flight attendant represents the company, and his or her appearance should be important.
Age is also important. again, from a safety standpoint. Younger individuals are more likely to have the ability and physical strength to save lives.
Now, as for the ” gays” part of it.. I have nothing really to say. They are usually more put together than a lot of women out there in the community. also, the gay flight attendants are usually younger. That SWA pilot is probably just homophobic, in my opinion.
I think that SWA pilot, and the rest of them, has probably now learned their lesson about speaking their judgmental opinions, at work.
what do you think?

About cobblestonesandheels1

Corporate flight attendant / travel coordinator Southern, CA. Originally from NY. but since home is where the heart is, mine is truly in the whole world. My favorite song and one i would dedicate to all my readers is: "My Wish" by Rascal Flatts"

Posted on June 24, 2011, in Corporate flight attendant. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

